Duke 2010

Duke (2009 Statistics)

  • Head coach David Cutcliffe took over in 2008.
  • While they are identified as a basketball school having just won the 2010 National Championship as well as a title in each of the past two decades (1991, 1992 and 2001) as well as winning 119 ACC Championships, Duke actually began as a football school.  Before they ever won a title in basketball, Duke had 7 ACC Championships, 10 ACC Players of the Year and is one of just three teams ever that went undefeated, unscored upon and untied in the regular season (1938).  The last ACC title they won was in 1989 under head coach Steve Spurrier.  However, all of the others came from 1953-1962 when they won 6 of the first 10 ACC Championships. 
  • Lately the best part of Duke football games have been that it only takes a student I.D. to get in and that you can carry in a plastic cup with the beverage of your choice.

Related Posts